clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Magic's Maurice Harkless, Andrew Nicholson don't make All-Rookie teams

The rookie forwards received votes for the yearly honor, but the league's coaches ultimately didn't select them for either of the teams.

Maurice Harkless
Maurice Harkless

The NBA's head coaches didn't select any of the Orlando Magic's five rookies to either of the All-Rookie teams, but Maurice Harkless and Andrew Nicholson did receive some votes for the yearly honor, according to the balloting results, which returns the NBA released Tuesday. Harkless appeared on 13 of the 29 ballots, with one first-team vote, while Nicholson earned four second-team votes.

Portland Trail Blazers point guard Damian Lillard, also the league's Rookie of the Year, headlines the first team; he was the only player to receive 29 first-team votes. Joining him on the first team are Golden State Warriors forward Harrison Barnes, Washington Wizards shooting guard Bradley Beal, New Orleans Hornets big man Anthony Davis, and Cleveland Cavaliers guard Dion Waiters.

More NBA awards coverage: SB Nation

The second team is Detroit Pistons center Andre Drummond, Charlotte Bobcats forward Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, Pistons swingman Kyle Singler, Toronto Raptors center Jonas Valančiūnas, and Cavs center Tyler Zeller.

Had Harkless received one more second-team vote, he would have made the second team, as he fell one point behind Zeller. Nicholson placed behind Harkless, Minnesota Timberwolves guard Alexey Shved, New York Knicks forward Chris Copeland, and Hornets point guard Brian Roberts.

Harkless and Nicholson are two of the 23 players who received All-Rookie votes.

Looking for Orlando Magic tickets? Orlando Pinstriped Post has you covered. We invite you to follow Orlando Pinstriped Post on Twitter and like Orlando Pinstriped Post on Facebook.