clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NBA awards 2013: Jameer Nelson sixth in Sportsmanship voting

The veteran point guard represented the Southeast Division in the 2013 vote. Jason Kidd won the award.

Jameer Nelson
Jameer Nelson

The NBA announced Tuesday that New York Knicks guard Jason Kidd won the 2013 NBA Sportsmanship Award, becoming the first player in the award's 18-year history to win it in consecutive seasons. Orlando Magic guard Jameer Nelson finished sixth in the voting, behind Kidd, Golden State Warriors guard Stephen Curry, Chicago Bulls forward Luol Deng, Memphis Grizzlies guard Michael Conley, and Oklahoma City Thunder big man Nick Collison.

More NBA awards coverage: SB Nation

Kidd earned 91 of a possible 355 first-place votes, and his peers cast the ballots; NBA players have voted on the award in each of the last 11 seasons. Nelson had 46 first-place votes. The Sportsmanship Award honors players for "ethical behavior, fair play and integrity."

If Nelson had won, the NBA would have donated $10,000 on his behalf to the Pete and Jameer Nelson Foundation. He would have become the second Magic player to win the award, joining former teammate Grant Hill, who took home the Dumars Trophy in the 2004/05 season.

Looking for Orlando Magic tickets? Orlando Pinstriped Post has you covered. We invite you to follow Orlando Pinstriped Post on Twitter and like Orlando Pinstriped Post on Facebook.