clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Only three Orlando Magic players on 2013 NBA All-Star ballot

The only Magic players on the overhauled ballot, which collapses forwards and centers into a catch-all frontcourt category, are Arron Afflalo, Glen Davis, and Al Harrington.

Arron Afflalo
Arron Afflalo

The NBA officially unveiled the ballot Tuesday afternoon for 2013 All-Star voting. The ballot features 60 players from each conference. In a change from previous years, the league has abolished the forward and center designations on the ballot, instead grouping all such players in a "frontcourt" category. Fans can vote for two guards and three frontcourt players per conference per ballot.

The rebuilding Orlando Magic are not well represented on the ballot: Arron Afflalo is the lone guard, while Glen Davis and Al Harrington earn frontcourt nods. Harrington's inclusion is notable because the 13-year veteran has yet to play in pinstripes as he recovers from offseason knee surgery. Also notable are the omissions of Magic mainstays Jameer Nelson, Hedo Türkoğlu, and J.J. Redick: none of the three Orlando representatives on the 2013 ballot were with the Magic one calendar year ago.

Steve Aschburner of, Jonathan Feigen of the Houston Chronicle, Doug Smith of the Toronto Star and the Professional Basketball Writers Association, and Kenny Smith of TNT selected the players for the 2013 All-Star ballot.

Fans can vote for All-Star selection in several ways, including by visiting, by texting their player's last name to MYNBA (69622), and via Twitter by using the hashtag #NBABallot.

Balloting concludes on January 14th, with the starters for East and West announced live in a special pregame show on January 17th on TNT. The 2013 NBA All-Star Game tips off on Sunday, February 17th, in Houston.

Looking for Orlando Magic tickets? Orlando Pinstriped Post has you covered. We invite you to follow Orlando Pinstriped Post on Twitter and like Orlando Pinstriped Post on Facebook.