clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tonight's Orlando Magic Game: vs. Toronto Raptors

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

The Orlando Magic conclude a three-game homestand tonight against the Toronto Raptors, against whom they'll implement their new, "stabilized" rotation. Toronto's picked up but one win this year, due mostly to its woeful defense, which inspired this hilarious and insightful post at Raptors Republic and a memorable rant from J.E. Skeets, a Raptors season ticketholder, in this episode of The Basketball Jones.

This Raptors team is far removed from the one Orlando faced in the first round of the 2008 playoffs. Sure, Andrea Bargnani and Jose Calderon are still around, but that's it. The starting lineup is filled with career role-players who, while talented to varying degrees, can't carry a franchise on their own. I do think the Magic's second unit could reasonably challenge the Raptors' top unit of Jarrett Jack, DeMar DeRozan, Linas Kleiza, rebounding specialist extraordinaire Reggie Evans, and Bargnani, let's say it that way.

But Bargnani can score, Evans can rebound, and Sonny Weems has proven he can create for himself off the dribble. On the whole, Toronto is merely an average offensive team, but it boasts potentially explosive players. The Magic should look to involve Dwight Howard in the offense early, drive the ball whenever possible to exploit the Raptors' lack of shot-blocking, and bury Toronto early so as to rest up for the trip to New Jersey later tonight.

2010/2011 NBA Season
Toronto Raptors main logo
Orlando Magic main logo
1-7 (0-4 road)
Lost 6
5-2 (4-1 home)
Lost 1
November 12th, 2010
Amway Center
7:00 PM
FSN Florida
Probable Starters
Jarrett Jack PG Jameer Nelson
DeMar DeRozan SG Vince Carter
Sonny Weems SF Quentin Richardson
Reggie Evans PF Rashard Lewis
Andrea Bargnani C Dwight Howard
2010/11 Advanced Stats
94.2 (16th) Pace 92.9 (18th)
105.5 (17th) ORtg 106.5 (T-14th)
110.2 (27th) DRtg 97.8 (1st)
Game Officials
Derrick Stafford
Brent Barnaky
Courtney Kirkland